TCA wins Taiwan Peace Cup 2018

Taiwan Peace Cup 2018 was won by the unbeaten team of the tournament Taipei Cricket Association (TCA), beating FCC in the finals at Chiayi on May 27, 2018. TCA captain Mohit Chaturvedi won the toss and elected to bat first in the 20-over game. TCA set a target of 175 runs for the FCC to chase.

The FCC bowlers did a great job in the start of the innings and were able to get 3 quick wickets for just 12 runs as the TCA was 12/3 in 4 overs. Later captain Mohit Chaturvedi played a prudent innings with Nagaraj and facilitated TCA to 61/3 in 9 overs. After Mohit’s run-out Jhonty (Rakesh Sharma) came to the crease and that was some display of tremendous power hitting, He scored furious 42 runs in just 18 deliveries. Later AD and Rahul joined the party and TCA posted 175/6 in 20 overs with AD hitting last ball 6 out of the ground.

It was a big target on that ground especially when TCA was fortified with the best bowling attack on the Island. FCC started well with Duan Christie and Vishal on crease, scoring 30 runs in first 3 overs but mid-innings collapse saw them inch closer towards defeat and TCA won the match by a big margin of 53 runs.

Man of the series was given to Jhonty Sharma of TCA for scoring 128 runs in the whole tournament with 4 wickets and economical bowling spell.





1205 Total Views 6 Views Today